Lilies

As some of you may know, I had a poetry anthology published a few years back. This poem, Lilies, features in that collection, and is one of my personal favourites. I have re-edited it, and I thought I’d post it here for you all to see. I like the romance of it, the melancholy but also the optimism. Let me know what you think…

Lilies

This field of lilies,

As white as winter snow,

Stretches on forever –

A smooth, incessant flow.

.

Hazily gleaming

Beneath a watchful moon,

They’re like freed spirits,

Escaping Nature’s womb.

.

Yet, not these lilies

Have I come here to admire,

But the lady who picks them,

Upon the midnight hour.

.

From my perch on high,

Concealed by the shadows,

I see her come bounding

Through the haunted meadow.

.

Raven hair so dark

Against the glowing bloom,

Her lips a scarlet heart,

Her skin a marble tomb.

.

She sinks to her knees

And gently plucks a flower.

The scent of sweet perfume

Seems to soothe and relax her.

.

And the smile on her face

Outshines any moon or star.

Like a lily, just blossomed –

Dainty, elegant, and fair.

.

Soon the night grows jaded,

And the lady must retire

To wherever it is she hides

When the sky’s ablaze with fire.

.

But back she will be

Come the following night,

To pick her chosen lilies,

And bringing me secret delight..

Cory John Eadson © 2012

6 thoughts on “Lilies

  1. Oh this was so worth the wait!!! This is truly divine word weaving my good sir! I agree with your saying it a touch melancholy and romantic…and I do love that it is optimistic as well! All the vey best combined masterfully!
    You should maybe put up a link to your anthology? Then people (like me) could check it out! I look forward to more…and then some more…please?! 🙂

    • Oh thank you very much for your kind words! I am so glad you like it. I’d love to have a proper go at re-editing it but I am planning something much bigger for this…I daren’t say anything yet until I officially begin, but…thank you! As for the anthology, if you go back a few Blog posts, you’ll see another snippet from it in the ‘Valentine’s Whimsy’ section. Here is the link: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/232615 And here is a code so you can download it for free 🙂 : EP99D Be gentle, there’s a LOT I’d change!!

      • I am only as kind as the words deserve! It is very true….I may seem verbose in my praise, but I sincerely mean each and every carefully chosen word!! ~ Thank you so very very much for the code and the giggle…lol….”be gentle” I have only had opportunity for a quick peek…but so far I can say I am well impressed!

        I think with time any writer would change what they’ve written. I shan’t hold it against you for two reasons: 1) You used the word “daren’t” which is my second favorite after “shan’t.” 2) You being a fellow writer, Whovian, and all around awesome gent forbids me anything but admire your words and your unique style! 🙂

      • You are very kind with your praise, and it is always welcome! It gives me a huge boost 🙂 As for the word daren’t, I’m so glad you approve. I didn’t even realise that I had used it. I say ‘shan’t’ a lot too in real life. You’re very, very generous, and once again you have brightened my day 😀

Leave a Reply

