Visual Dare 49: Devoted

This week’s Visual Dare challenge, titled ‘The Offering of the Rose’

He used to imagine himself as a great pillar, holding up the foundations of this mighty castle. But the years were long and many, and weakened by time he now saw himself as a loose screw, rolling about the deserted hallways without aim or purpose.

Almost no purpose.

Every night, under the steady gaze of the moon, he would venture into the overgrown jungle he once called a garden, to pluck a sole rose from the bush. He’d then place his flower upon the frame of the dusty portrait of his one true love.

Although age had taken her, as it did every mortal, in the painting she was as young and beautiful as ever. Despite his curse of immortality, in some small way the offering of the rose still connected him to her. A connection as beautiful as those scarlet petals, and as painful as the knife-like thorns…

14 thoughts on “Visual Dare 49: Devoted

  1. I am intrigued by your take on this prompt…and absolutely fascinated by your writing style! You managed to convey so much with so few words….I’m definitely with Rosy…I like!!! 🙂

      • You deserve it! 🙂 And…. I’ve just read that this is a theme you’re working on????…. I cannot wait for that! From what and how you have written this piece, it’s going to be fantastic! 🙂 So, yes, do indeed finish it. Us writers have really got to keep pushing ourselves and our boundaries beyond what we think we are capable of. And on that note…. I should have a stab at this weeks VisDare. I’ve had a very frustrating case of ‘Writers Block’ since Tuesday!! But I finally managed to write a piece In the small hours of this morning. So I am praying the curse is over! 😉

      • It is indeed! It is a short story I’ve had in my head for a while, and I tried bringing a part of it to life for the VisDare prompt 😀 I do totally agree that we need to push ourselves, to keep going, and also to try and go beyond what we think we are capable of. Sometimes, these little prompts are great to overcome the dreaded ‘writer’s block’. I cannot wait to see what you come up with. I have perused your blog, and your writing style is simply beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

