Tonight…

It’s past midnight. The sun is a distant memory, city lights twinkle like low-lying stars in the distance, and the world is silent. My mind is full of ideas at the moment. Ideas for some short stories I hope to complete, to send off to various anthologies in the hope of getting published. Ideas for that novel that has been poking and prodding at my subconscious for a long, long time. Ideas for the new feature I’m introducing to my radio show next Tuesday.

The urge to be creative is an all-consuming one, and continues to excite me. But a part of being creative is to absorb the creations of others, and as 1AM fast approaches, and the world goes ever-more quiet in the throes of night-time ambience, I have decided to do just that.

Tucked up in bed, a hot cup of tea by my side, and 100 or so pages left of Dean Kootz’s 77 Shadow Street.

Tomorrow will bring a new day, and with it, new hopes, new inspiration. But, just for now, the night-time world is eternal.

Goodnight, sleep tight, dream well….

5 thoughts on “Tonight…

    • I have many of his books that have accumulated over the past few years, but Shadow Street is the first one I have ever read by him πŸ™‚ And I really like it! Nay, I LOVE it! πŸ˜€

  1. I did very much enjoy your beguiling thoughts of the night time and its musings….why is it that most people (including me) get such a dose of creativity so late? Something I’ve never been able to figure out.

    I used to read Koontz all the time (long time ago), though not Shadow Street…will have to check it out…

    • Me neither! I’ve been struck by the writing bug tonight…I always prefer night writing to morning writing, and it seems you so too! Shadow Street was amazing, I am officially hooked on Koontz now! πŸ˜€

      • I am definitely going to have to look for that title now…it has been too long since I’ve read any of his books! I do indeed prefer night writing!

        I think night time is way more conducive to writing…maybe it’s the mystery of night, beguiling nature of the dark. Just a guess…

Leave a Reply

